Skip to content.
VIEW SITE IN te reo Māori


To ensure that the Awards recognise and celebrate the best of New Zealand education achievements, entries will be judged in four categories, with an additional Education Focus prize also being awarded. From the four categories, a Supreme Award is given to the single best overall entry. Criteria for judging are drawn from the world renowned Best Evidence Synthesis and supported by education strategies and curriculum documents developed in New Zealand.

Current awards status
Now opening 25 February 2019
Awards close 5 April 2019

Descriptions of Awards categories

CAT awards Atahapara

Excellence in Engaging

This award celebrates working together as a community to transform relationships and strengthen achievement, leading to improved and sustained outcomes for all children and young people.
CAT awards atakura

Excellence in Leading

This award celebrates leadership and its influence on strengthening professional capability and creating a change in conditions, leading to improved and sustained outcomes for all children and young people
CAT awards atatu

Excellence in Teaching and Learning

This award celebrates teaching that transforms the learning of all children and young people, and achieves improved and sustained outcomes.
CAT awards awatea

Excellence in Health and Wellbeing Education

This award celebrates practices that enhance the health and wellbeing of all children and young people, and achieve improved and sustained outcomes.
CAT awards takatu

Education Focus Prize

Excellence in Māori-medium Education: This award celebrates Māori-medium education in Kōhanga Reo and ngā Puna Kohungahunga (early learning services), kura, schools and wharekura that delivers excellent outcomes for tamariki and rangatahi.
CAT awards takirikoteata

The Prime Minister's Supreme Award

This award is selected from the winners in the four Award categories and is determined by the extent of improvement and impact on education outcomes.

Prizes and acknowledgement

Recognising entries

All entries considered by the judging panel will receive feedback.

Recognising finalists

All finalists will receive certificates and a financial award to acknowledge their contribution to education.

As part of being recognised as finalists, each finalist group will be filmed by a professional production company to showcase their stories. The short films will be shown at the Awards ceremony and published here.

Category Awards and Prize

Winners of the four categories and focus prize will each receive a package that includes a trophy, certificate, a financial award ($20,000), and a professional development opportunity.

Supreme Award

The winner of the Prime Minister's Supreme Award will receive a package that includes the Supreme Award trophy, a certificate, an additional financial award ($30,000), and an opportunity to represent New Zealand education.


The Awards seek to recognise and celebrate outstanding achievement in New Zealand education.

To do this they will acknowledge the strengths observed in each entry and find ways to share these stories of success.


Close modal